Toll Tax Exemption: Which category of people do not have to pay toll, get 100% exemption from the government

Toll Tax Exemption: All types of vehicles have to pay tax for using highways and expressways in the country. But people of some special categories do not have to pay any kind of toll. People of such category are given a 100 percent exemption from toll tax by the government. Which category of people are given the facility of Toll Tax Exemption. Let's know.

Jun 3, 2024 - 17:50
Toll Tax Exemption: Which category of people do not have to pay toll, get 100% exemption from the government

The number of national highways and expressways is continuously increasing. Vehicles have to pay Toll Tax to travel on them. But some selected categories of people in the country are given 100 percent exemption on toll tax. Which categories of people are given the facility of Toll Tax Exemption. We are telling you in this news.

Traveling on all national highways and expressways of India has become expensive since 3 June 2024. NHAI has increased the toll tax by about five percent for all categories of vehicles on national highways and expressways across the country. Earlier this increase was to be implemented from 1 April 2024, but it was postponed due to general elections and code of conduct.

The number of expressways and national highways is continuously increasing in India. Due to better roads, a large number of people also travel long distances by their vehicles. However, the NHAI has been given the task of collecting tolls on such highways and expressways by the government.

All types of vehicles including private passenger vehicles, light commercial vehicles, and heavy commercial vehicles have to pay toll tax for using national highways and expressways. But people of certain categories are exempted from this. These people get a 100% discount from the Central Government on using National Highways and Expressways.

The people who are exempted from paying toll tax on any highway and expressway across the country include the President of the country, Vice-President, Prime Minister, Chief Justice, Governor, lieutenant governor, Union Ministers, Chief Ministers of States, High Court Judges, Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Speaker of Lok Sabha, Chairman of State Legislative Council, Speaker of State Legislative Assembly, Chief Justice and other Judges of High Court, Ministers of States, MPs, Secretary of Government of India, Secretary of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha, Members of Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council of States and high-ranking foreigners on official tour.

The Government of India honors certain individuals for their service to the country. Such people are also exempt from paying tolls. These include the winners of Param Vir Chakra, Ashok Chakra, Mahavir Chakra, Kirti Chakra, and Shaurya Chakra. They must show a photo ID to do so.

Aside from honorable people, some other categories of people in India are exempt. These include Defence Ministry officials going for official work, Indian Army, Navy, and Air Force officials, paramilitary forces, central and armed forces in police uniform, executive magistrates, fire departments or organizations, NHAI, or people from any such organization who are using their vehicle for inspection or survey work. Ambulances and hearse vehicles are also exempted from paying taxes across the country.

Muskan Kumawat Journalist & Writer