ODI to Shai Hope and T20 command to Rovman Powell

Different captains of all three formats in West Indies: ODI to Shai Hope and T20 command to Rovman Powell

Feb 16, 2023 - 12:40
ODI to Shai Hope and T20 command to Rovman Powell

The West Indies team has appointed different captains for all three formats i.e. Test, ODI and T20. Rovman Powell has been handed over the T20 captaincy and Shai Hope the ODI captaincy. Whereas, Kraigg Brathwaite is already the captain of the Test team. Both captains will take over their responsibilities in the South Africa tour.
Former West Indies team captain Nicholas Pooran resigned from the captaincy of white-ball cricket after a disappointing performance in the T20 World Cup last year. Pooran was the captain of ODIs and T20s. Hope and Powell were the vice-captains of the team during Pooran's captaincy.
The biggest challenge for the West Indies at the moment is to qualify for the One Day World Cup. West Indies will play qualifier matches in Zimbabwe in June-July. The team is currently ranked eighth, just behind Afghanistan.
Hope said - Being appointed as the West Indies team captain is a huge honour for any player. Today my childhood dream has come true. The history and legacy of the West Indies in cricket are huge. People like this game. Thanks to the board for giving me such a great opportunity.
Powell said - I am grateful to everyone that I have got the opportunity to become the captain of the West Indies. I look upon it as the greatest honour of my career. To represent the people of the Caribbean in a sport is a really big deal.
The West Indies tour of South Africa will begin with two Tests from February 28 to March 12. The first ODI will be played on the 16th, the second 18th and the third on the 21st of March. After this, there will be team T20 matches on 25, 26 and 28 March.

Muskan Kumawat Journalist & Writer