X.com removed this special feature from the platform, now even unwanted followers will not be able to 'block'

X (formerly Twitter) may be planning to remove a feature that is a basic right of every user on the platform. We are talking about the block feature. Block option or feature that allows the user to block unwanted followers from viewing their activity. Now to see when this feature will be removed. Let us know about it in detail.

Aug 19, 2023 - 13:19
 0
X.com removed this special feature from the platform, now even unwanted followers will not be able to 'block'

Social media company X (formerly Twitter) will remove a protective feature that allowed users to block other accounts. Owner Elon Musk made another controversial move for the company on Friday.

The block function on X allows users to restrict specific accounts from contacting them, viewing their posts, or following them. Musk referred to direct messages in a post on the forum, saying the block was being removed as a 'feature', except in DMs.

He added that X will retain the mute function, which prevents users from viewing specified accounts, but unlike blocking, does not alert the other account to the action. Removing or limiting the block feature could put X in conflict with guidelines put in place by Apple's App Store and Alphabet's Google Play.

Apple says that apps with user-generated content should have the ability to block users who misbehave. The Google Play Store says it will allow apps to block user-generated content and an in-app system to block users. Explain that X, Google, and Apple did not immediately respond to requests for comment.

Yacarino posted that the safety of our users at X is our number one priority. And we're making it better than the current state of block and mute. Please keep sending feedback. The company has said Musk will lead the product and engineering teams, while Yacarino will lead all other teams, including legal and sales.

Muskan Kumawat Journalist & Writer