SRH creates new history in T20 cricket, breaks 7-year-old record; Made the biggest score of power play

In a record-breaking performance, SRH scored 125 runs without loss in the first six overs. This is the biggest powerplay score in T20 cricket history. Earlier in 2017, Nottinghamshire had scored 106/0 against Durham. Sunrisers Hyderabad broke the 7-year-old record. Whereas Hyderabad made the biggest score in powerplay in IPL history.

Apr 20, 2024 - 21:26
SRH creates new history in T20 cricket, breaks 7-year-old record; Made the biggest score of power play

Sunrisers Hyderabad has completely changed the record books in IPL 2024. While Sunrisers made the highest score in IPL history, they registered another big record against Delhi Capitals. SRH made the highest powerplay score in T20 cricket history in the 35th match of IPL.

SRH broke all previous records in the first six overs, scoring 125 runs without a loss. This accomplishment establishes a new benchmark for opening pairings in the league and emphasises the team's aggressive batting approach. In just 16 balls, Travis Head achieved the joint-fastest half-century in IPL 2024, while Abhishek Sharma amassed 40 runs in just 10 balls. Against Durham in 2017, SRH surpassed Nottinghamshire's previous record of 106/0.

In this list, Sunrisers Hyderabad has attained the top spot. He also performed a fantastic job of scoring the highest in the IPL's first powerplay at the same time. The 105 runs scored by KKR in 2017 were surpassed by Hyderabad. At the same time, CSK also left behind the fastest team century scored in 2014. Sunrisers Hyderabad had crossed the 100 mark in 5 overs. CSK had done this feat in 6 overs.

Talking about the match, Delhi Capitals captain Rishabh Pant won the toss and decided to bowl first. Travis Head had made his intentions clear from the second ball itself. After hitting sixes in Khalil's over, he started raining fours and sixes. Abhishek also supported the head. Together, both of them beat the Delhi bowlers badly. There was a partnership of 131 runs in 6.2 overs for the first wicket.

Muskan Kumawat Journalist & Writer