Afghanistan beat Pakistan in T20 for the first time

Afghanistan beat Pakistan in T20 for the first time: won by 6 wickets, Pakistan scored 92 runs

Mar 25, 2023 - 09:01
Afghanistan beat Pakistan in T20 for the first time

Afghanistan defeated Pakistan by 6 wickets in the first match of the three T20 series in Sharjah. This is Pakistan's first defeat in T20 against Afghanistan. Batting first, Pakistan scored 92 runs losing 9 wickets in 20 overs. In reply, Afghanistan won the match by scoring 98 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in 7.5 overs.
Pakistan has rested their star players Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan and Shaheen Afridi from the three-match series. In such a situation, in the absence of these players, the Pakistani team looked scattered and could not overcome the challenge of Afghanistan.
Pakistan won the toss and decided to bat first. Bad start for Pakistan. Opener Mohammad Haris got out after scoring only 6 runs. The same Abdullah Shafiq could not even open his account. Sam Ayub could also score only 17 runs. He hit 2 fours and a six in his innings. Tyeb Tahir also could not score much. He too got out after scoring 16 runs. Captain Shadab Khan also could not do anything special. He also returned to the pavilion after scoring 12 runs. Fazhal Farooqui, Mujeeb Ur Rehman and Mohammad Nabi took two wickets each for Afghanistan.
Chasing a target of 93 runs, Afghanistan achieved the target 13 balls before, despite a poor start. The first blow to Afghanistan was on the team's score of 23 runs. Opener Ibrahim Zadran was dismissed by Ihsanullah after scoring 9 runs and Gulbadin Naib returned to the pavilion without opening his account.
Rahmanullah Gurbaz also scored 16 runs and went on to score 27 runs. Afghanistan's innings were handled by Mohammad Nabi and Najibullah Zadran. Nabi played an unbeaten inning of 38 runs and Zadran scored 17 not out. For Pakistan, Ihsanullah took 2 wickets for 17 runs in 3.5 overs. And Imad Wasim took 1 wicket for 11 runs in 4 overs. Apart from this, Naseem Shah also took a wicket.

Muskan Kumawat Journalist & Writer